Where do we go from here, and do we really care?

This isn’t a funny post, but there’s a couple of things I wanted to run by you guys.

First, it seems the most fun I have updating the site is when the content is in some way science or technology related. I’ve had a blast writing these robot posts, I loved doing the Dio post, and the video game posts just seem to flow more naturally while writing them. My question is, are these going over as well as the other non-science related, random posts?

I was thinking about marking a kind of official change, and switching this blog over to exclusively science/technology related material. Though the theme is pretty general (it would still encompass things like sci-fi movies, video games, etc.) it’s a lot more specific my current theme, which is something along the lines of “most things suck. Also, dicks.”

Narrowing the focus would serve a few functions; First, it may help people stick with it, visit more often, or encourage linking. Second, I’m a total nerdwhore for science/technology apparently. I wasn’t entirely aware of that, but it’s time I just admit to myself that I’m a science nerd with little to no understanding of actual science. Switching the theme would help me to stop living a lie. Third, there’s a severe drought of anybody with a decent sense of humor talking about this kind of stuff. I know the video-game realm is run rife with humor, but the realm of science/tech is pretty vacant as far as entertainment goes. Science nerds have senses of humor too, right? Oh god, what if they don’t? They…they probably don’t.

Shit.

Anyway, I’m not exactly hurting for traffic here. I do more than my fair share on average. But in general blogs with a specific theme seem to do better than more catch-all, personal sites. This just means I’d stop inundating you with shit like my opinion on Baconators and what my girlfriend’s schedule looks like. Unless that’s the whole reason you guys come here; to stalk my stupid opinions via the internet. So, what do you think? For? Against? Kind of in the middle? Hopelessly stricken with ennui?

Oh, and also, the forum goers over at Cracked have started a blogroll circle jerk of sorts, so I’m updating my sidebar with their links. Check them out. Anybody else want to do this? I know a lot of you have sites, and I don’t mind swapping links if that’s something you’re interested in doing. Just comment with your site, a little bit of what it’s about, and a short, rhyming poem about GI Joe.

I have standards, you know.

This entry was posted in I Fight Robots, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Where do we go from here, and do we really care?

  1. Tawny says:

    Not that my opinion matters that much, but your blog is one that I check almost daily, so I thought I might post my opinion. No matter what you are posting, I am going to read it because it is your writing that keeps me coming back, not just your topics. On the other hand, the radical nature of your writing is that you seem to write things that every one thinks and is afraid to say, or things that are true to you and make you who you are. Personally, I love hearing all of it, especially about the dicks.

  2. dudekazoo says:

    I thought that last post about Morgui was genius. I laughed my ass off and would be very enthused to hear more like it. I agree that the science/tech angle is usually pretty humorless and support a shift to emphasize it. Best of luck deciding, whatever you choose!

  3. dudekazoo says:

    I’m retarded and forgot to point out in the last comment that your site is called “I Fight Robots” and a science/tech theme is EXACTLY what that conveyed to me when I first showed up here.

  4. Robert says:

    Tawny,

    That’s something I was afraid of too. I’m not sure if I would lose my edge by limiting my range. I’m not sure if it would help or hinder me in post subjects. On the one hand, I always kind of know what I’m going to write about, on the other, is there always material in science/tech? I’m still on the fence about it myself. Thanks for the input.

    Also, dicks.

    See what I did there?

    I added dicks, was what I did.

  5. Robert says:

    Dudekazoo,

    I forgot to mention that! The other virtue of switching is that all of a sudden my site name and themes make sense, instead of just being random gibberish as they are now.

    Also, dicks again!

    Ha ha, I’m two for two!

    Why am I not famous?

  6. Travis says:

    I enjoy your writing for the humor you throw into it not necessarily the subject matter. If you peppered enough dick jokes into a thesis about socio-economic studies of japanese feudal tribes I’d still probably read it and laugh. I think if you focused on sci-fi and tech and occasionally strayed into personal anecdotes you’d do well.

    Also, in the interest of joining the circle jerk of linking websites my website is howtokillpeople.com – according to the san francisco chronicle it’s a website containing profanity filled social commentary and crude sex jokes. So if that’s your cup of tea…

    and in accordance with the last requirement

    GI Joe Haiku

    G.I. Joe Shoots guns
    their lasers are red and blue
    they can’t shoot for shit

  7. Travis says:

    Also, not to be a overly talkative cunt, if gizmodo and ohgizmo can post on technology multiple times a day I’m sure you can find enough material to write about.

  8. Muledriver says:

    Do it. What the hell.

    I mean, if you do the switch and occasionally write off-topic it’s not like the internet police are going to kick in your door and beat you silly or anything. Or maybe they will. That’s just the chance you’ll have to take to bring us the funny.

    Also, if you ever decide to start selling ifightrobots.com swag, I would like to pre-order a coffee mug that says “Also, dicks.” on it.

  9. Robert says:

    Thanks Travis, you’re linked. You were in the San Francisco chronicle? Was it the “lifestyles” section, if you know what I mean?

  10. Robert says:

    Muledriver,

    Just for you.

    Oh, and here’s one more, just because.

  11. Muledriver says:

    Robert,

    You are SO SWEET!

    That mug rocks.

    I already have the t-shirt, though. Except mine is silk.

  12. Robert says:

    I was debating putting it on the boxers, but then I thought “it needs to be in a place where somebody will actually see it.”

    I believe the term you’re looking for is “oh, snap.”

  13. I enjoy your strange entries. Like the one about a guy who shits on a dead thing? Robots can’t shit. Shit is a huge resource for humor!! If you switch to purely technology related posts you will only be able to bring it up when talking about advanced toilet seats programmed with an insatiable taste for shit. Maybe it will be programmed with a low voice to say “yum!” whenever it senses a disturbance in the water? I don’t know. I’m not a technologist or anything but I do think it would give you more incentive to use the toilet. If you’re the kind of guy who needs that extra push. Anyways, I digressed.

    So yeah, I think maybe sites with a more specific theme do better but I think a lot of humor comes from the unexpected. So just say you’re changing to the specific theme but then also write about other things. This way they’ll become confused and scared. And isn’t that the point of blogs, after all?

    Glad I could help.

  14. deadlytoque says:

    The science stuff is good, and it’s not like you really stay on-focus with the posts about science anyway. I mean, Dio in a blog about science?

    I’d say go with the theme for as long as it works. If it stops working, stop doing it.

    If the key to creativity is to focus, then focus is what you need, but focus can easily burn a dude out. If you start to burn out, then do something else.

    The other advantage to a focused blog as opposed to a scattershot humour site? If you have a topic you stick to, you are that much more likely to get a book deal.

    I think “Science, and also Dicks” would make a great book title.

  15. Jess says:

    I am also a big fan of “Ghost Ridin’ the Raccoon Corpse” and similar entries, and would hate to see them vanish. I don’t mind if you take a strong focus toward science and technology, and would actually love to see more stuff in that vein (I’m a big fan of xkcd, too), but I’d hate for you to quit writing the odd and bizarre entries.

    There once was a soldier named Duke
    Whose entire survival was a fluke
    The snake to his heart
    Should have torn him apart
    But it met with parental rebuke

  16. Robert says:

    Excellent, excellent poem. But you have no site to link to?

  17. Ian says:

    I support you doing whatever will keep you marginally less popular than myself.

  18. Robert says:

    I think you mean that you “support doing whatever will finally make me marginally less popular than yourself.” So, how many of your cats read your blog? All six?

    I’ll make sure to pick up just the five then.

  19. Jordan says:

    Hey Rob- I’m a second-ish time poster and long time reader. I have a whole round of humor sites that I try and hit every day. To be honest the majority are web comics because I don’t have the patience to read through most of people’s nonsense. But I read through your posts (usually at work) and cannot stop laughing. You ever notice how things are even harder not to laugh at when you really shouldn’t be laughing?

    Anyway, I had to post in reference to your question. I think it would be a great idea to have a general subject. If it means you will post more often (hourly?) than I fully support it. But I would also be incredibly disappointed if you didn’t still have the completely ridiculous random posts. One of my favorite moments involved a reference to rocket-jumping a skateboard over a sword and lego-sumo-wrestler combo. (a #3 meal at Arby’s- but if you don’t ask for it by name they give you some kind of “food” )

  20. Justin Force says:

    Your writing is consistently extremely funny. I have to tell you, the post in which you wrote about finding a dead raccoon wearing somebody else’s shit is one of the funniest things I have ever read. Period. What if your blog had been sci-tech then? There would have been no shitty raccoon post. My life would be that much more empty.

    Write what you want.

  21. Lord Shplane says:

    I have laughed at almost everything you have written.

    Write what you think is funny, and I’ll read it.

  22. Robert says:

    Thank you, Internet Lord.

  23. Allen says:

    Dude, this blog is awesome! Yeah, I mostly started reading on mass for the science (I, too, am a science whore with little to no scientific knowledge) but the other stuff fills it out and makes it a well rounded, funny blog. Just keep doing what your doing. If you write it, they will come! It’s your Blog Of Dreams!

  24. sam says:

    ur a genius anything u write9cept gran theft auto) is hilarious i wudnt switch

  25. Robert says:

    Sam, Allen,

    I hope you stick around after the coming changes, ’cause I’m switching formats again…

Leave a comment